GW2 PvP and Deathly Shadows

I really have to say that I absolutely love the PvP in GW2 and how mind blowingly refreshing it is not to have to raid or spend exorbitant amounts of time getting your ass handed to you. I could literally spend days just playing these SPvP matches as the are a blast to play win or lose, by the end of the play session that’s exactly what I was doing.. playing to have fun and those not worrying to much about capturing nodes. It feels very similar to the fps lobbies in a sense and that is a great thing, it leaves the stuffy formal setting behind of only allowing the hardcore to compete and opens it up to the masses. There are always so many games going on and for the most part I think everyone is having fun. It is very much a time of learning at the moment with people mix and matching traits, weapons, and runes and this translates amazingly into the game as every match group you get into feels very unique and diverse… yes there are a few “Meta Builds”at the moment but there are new exciting builds being explored all the time. I also see a lot of skill changes in the mix while arena net works out this balancing act, and I think many classes will be a work in progress for some time

It is very overwhelming when you first come in to it as there are just so many options, and you have everything available to you. So a few hints to ease you into it.

  1. Take a deep breath.. get yourself comfortable first as there is no hurray.
  2. Read the skill descriptions… as many times as it takes.
  3. Work out you skills distance at the dummies… don’t waste cooldowns when its avoidable
  4. Decide on a focus for yourself, whichever amulet you decide on is pretty much it. Power, Crit, Condition, Vitality, Toughness, Healing. I wouldn’t go for too much healing power though as you probably wont see much benefit from it.
  5. Weapon runes are easy to pick as you can discard many straight away. Adding a ‘stat on kill is a waste, Unless you have decent crit those are out too, and just have a look at your weapon set/s to see whats more appropriate. Effect on weapon swaps are good for offhand since the cooldown is often longer. Geomancy is great for a condition build, for when you want to stay in close I like Hydromancy.
  6. Armor runes will take a while to figure out, just remember that the 6 skill can often not be worth the investment… mix and match to suit you
  7. Don’t be afraid of the forums, post your build and get some help.. they really can be quite friendly.
  8. If your completely stumped steal someone else’s build as it may help you figure out what you want. Some of those PvP tournie vids I linked are a good start… If the best are using them they are probably good.
  9. Lastly Keybinds are a must, find where your hand is comfortable and use around there, at the moment it is q for skill 1, e for the heal, and z x c v for the profession skills, the rest is on the gaming mouse. A gaming mouse is definitely a plus, since the Naga got eaten I tried something new and got the G700 and it fits beautifully in your hand.

Anyway I had a lot of fun in some structured pvp yesterday, I was getting kind of over the condition Necro and wanted to switch it up a bit so I tried my Dark Path/ Power build and had a lot of fun with it. It is a lot tankier than the Conditionmancer and I can see it translating well enough to another focus (ie.. condition damage) by changing up the trinkets. Being able to pop in and out of death Shroud is an amazing tool to negate damage and with the retaliation involved you dish a little back. I survived during fights for a lot longer, even under focus fire so it might make a great support type build with maybe staff and such. I was able to traverse between points very quickly as well so it could be a roamer or even a defender on call.

And here’s the Death Shroud build

A few things to note on the videos though, I have had to bump down the game specs to minimum as my laptop seems to be on its last legs. Performance has also taken a hit and the second video has a bit of juttering as well and I cut off the end of the match since it was completely unwatchable. It is just constantly overheating it seems (even though it doesn’t feel hot) and giving it anything strenuous to do pretty much screws it over, even with everything bumped down to the minimum it still only lasts a few hours, I have it booked in for repair on monday so it might be a pretty lean week in terms of playing GW2 and posting here as well.

Anyway here was my first match which was a blast and I may have one more video incoming later on as with our shitty upload system in Aus it takes forever to upload anything of substantial size. The first one took like 10 freaking hours.

*haha lol just realised, i left the sound on even though I remember turning it off ><, computers going in for service so a new vid of this will be incoming shortly.*

 

A noticed a few mistakes I was making after re-watching it the main one I think was popping Choas Armour then going into DS as think it doesn’t apply it’s effect. But overall it was fun. I am also not very comfortable in melee yet so i really could stay in dagger longer as the damage is ok from 1 and it has a very fast animation and cast. It is just that Aussie ping can give some issues with being able to hit what is in front of you and many games have been decidedly laggy lately, although i don’t seem to be alone in that fact with many reporting the same thing in chat… Me thinks the database is a little overloaded at the moment.

One thing I have been thinking lately is that Necro feels a little underpowered compared to the other classes. damage is a little weak and even our apparently best spec, the Conditionmancer is outperformed by other classes condition specs. Looking at the Mesmer utilities lately ours feel a little bit less useful in comparison. It is hard at the moment, if we spec for damage comparable to other classes we are the epitamy of the glass cannon, if we go for more utility or survivability our damage is quite meek. I really enjoy the playstyle of both condition and the Dark path build I tried but they just lack that oomph. I will keep trying out different builds but I might be ditching it in favour of the Mesmer, or maybe an undecided 3rd class for SPvP.

