Gaming Questionnaire

SO this Gaming Questionnaire is going around at the moment from the site Cannot be Tamed. It seemed like an interesting list with a few questions I’ve answered before but also many interesting ones that really fill out what your gaming personality is. So here it is.

When did you start playing video games?

Properly playing I guess is rather hard to remember. I’ve been playing for a long time but I guess that main early play would have been on the Sega Mega Drive with titles like Desert Strike, Sonic, Aladdin, Road Rash and NBA Jam.

What is the first game you remember playing?

The very First games are the coffee table arcade style of Dig Dug and Galaga.

Digdug

PC or Console?

A little of Both. I’ve had a ps3 and a pc (laptop) for a long time now) and If I had the cash I would keep up with the newer generation of consoles by buying a ps4 and probably will eventually. FOr now I am at getting a functioning Pc first so I guess pc remains the bigger priority based on the flexibility and options it has.

XBox, PlayStation, or Wii?

Probably Playstation but I’m not all fangirl about it at all, they just seems to have had the titles I’m more interested in. Sackgal for life.

What’s the best game you’ve ever played?

Hmmmmmmmm… that’s a really hard one as how do you really determine the best from a variety of genre’s. Civ 2 is probably the best strategy game, Baldur’s Gate my favourite RPG, terraria for my favourite sandbox and Borderlands for my favourite shooter. Oh actually I choose Terraria for the king of all games here as I’ve spent the most time in it and been the most focused about it.

Terraria

What’s the worst game you’ve ever played?

Day Z. Now I usually don’t play games I hate. I drop them after the first instance of dislike and never come back. I also, generally, research what I’m buying so there isn’t as much issue with getting products unsuited to me.

The issue is this game could be good, could. The concept is there but it is mired in all the issues and mistakes of early access. It is unfinished garbage in every way; lacking a wealth of features, unpolished  in controls and look and a buggy mess that they have stated an inability to fix. There was also the crippling lag and server issues too that are completely the fault of the game and client. It is, both mechanical and in terms of gameplay the worst game.

Deponia is pretty shit as well.

Name a game that was popular/critically adored that you just didn’t like.

See above. It’s sold millions of copies and yet it is just utter, irredeemable garbage.

Name a game that was poorly received that you really like.

Well I don’t know if it’s been poorly received exactly it’s just relatively unknown still. Project Zomboid is everything I wanted the survival genre to be. It has the zombie apocalypse aspect but a a fully realised vision in regards to health and psychology, day by day survival and eking out an existence within this space. You have cooking, crafting, building, fishing, medicine and many other features…in fact, I’m going back to it right now.

Project Zomboid

What are your favourite game genres?

I pretty much play everything with no genre left unplayed. I used to be far bigger into strategy style games but that has subsided a little as my interest in mmo’s has grown but otherwise I play the other genres pretty regularly.

Who is your favourite game protagonist?

Earlier games I’d definitely go with Tanya from the Command and Conquer Series.

Tanya

Manny Calavera was a great character as well.

From recent times I’m not exactly sure, Maybe Nathan drake. Even though he is a cocky overrated douche it’s a really well done character that I always enjoy watching. His dialogue is always great too ranging from deep and meaningful, philosophical statements and the wittiest of retorts.

Describe your perfect video game.

I already did in this post. Basically Eve in a wild west package where you’re creating outposts, towns and other types of infrastructure as well as controlling terrain.

What video game character do have you have a crush on?

Adam Jensen.. hunky, great bod and manly voice that goes deep but not into the batman realms of idiocy… plus I kind a have a thing for the techy bits

adamjensen

What game has the best music?

games have music? hehe. I usually game without sound or while either watching tv or listening to music. If it is on I barely notice, not enough to pick out anything discernible.

Most memorable moment in a game:

I tend to have a terrible memory so this is a hard one… hmm. For mmo’s it would have to be my first kill of Greenscale in Rift, it was amazing to feel that rush upon finally beating that beats. Always had some great times in GW2 WvW with the guild, so many amazing night running around there, killing and talking.

OOOOOOOOOO

just remembered. Borderlands 2 where that douche kills Bloodwing… having mained mordecai’s in the first and growing quite attached to it I had to walkaway afterwards.

Scariest moment in a game:

Resident Evil 2 where t]you are searching around the Police station and unlocking the puzzles. It is a time just so filled with tension and while it doesn’t tend to throw much out at you, when it does really makes you lose your nerve.

Most heart-wrenching moment in a game:

Gone Home. I won’t spoil it too much but the game does such a great job of introducing the characters and their stories while never resenting them enough that you feel their jubilation but also pain. That ending too just.. teeeeeears. Walking Dead season one also had some of the saddest moments that really hit you, many because you were the one making the decision.

What are your favourite websites/blogs about games?

SO MANY and all on the side there.. actually not all of them so hmmm. Been meaning to update that for a while so guess what I’m doing on the weekend. I have a link dead radio post every week where I look at my favourite blog posts so that’s a great place to start.

What’s the last game you finished?

XCOM: Enemy Unknown and just finished it last week after a great suicidal run through. I don’t generally play tactical style games, especially not turn based but it was the perfect game of the genre. Interesting strategy and choice throughout.

What future releases are you most excited about?

The Division – survival shooter with a lot of cooperative elements

The Repopulation – sci fi mmo sandbox

Camelot Unchained – RvR PvP mmo sandbox

Grim Dawn – rpg

Black Desert – korean MMO with amny intersting sandbox elements

Wasteland 2 – rpg

Pillars of Eternity – RPG

Darkwood – survival horror

Do you identify as a gamer?

When it pleases me. Sometimes I feel like it is a very negative term, one in which the usual stereotypes of intolerance and idiocy are ingrained within. There are a lot of other negative connotations as well but yes… in that I play games more than any other interests in my life

Why do you play video games?

Because I enjoy them. They are a place for relaxation, where I can go to not think but be engaged. A place for challenge and to feel smart, powerful and feel a mastery over my circumstances. A place to imagine and create. A place to experience wonder and joy based on our environments and experiences. A place to see and hear stories you haven’t before that open up your understanding of the world. A place to meet others and be social and share in this wondrous medium

13 thoughts on “Gaming Questionnaire

    • how cool would a modern remake be, not going for the hyper realistic graphics of current games just having the polish of controls with that cartoony graphics.. plus multiplayer.
      BRB… creating Kickstarter

  1. Omg I haven’t really played any C&C so when I saw Tanya my first thought was “she looks almost exactly like Tanya in TSW (Egypt)!! I wonder if Funcom did that deliberately as an homage – I think even the accent is the same?

    • please do, little indie project but it’s a very wel developed project now with most of the mechanics you would want from it. There’s also multiplayer suppoprt

      They’re mainly working on NPC ai atm.

      OOO.. and the modding around it is great too

  2. Pingback: Gaming Questionnaire | Cannot be Tamed
  3. Pingback: Digital Salad Answers | Life As A Digital Salad

Comments are closed.