The Mood for Youtube

So I’ve been steadily making reviews for the youtube channel now, going for 1 a month and mostly getting there. The problem is I’m not sure if what I’m making is any good. Yes, we all say that when creating new content I guess but this time I more feel like the style of review I am making just isn’t me.

From what I see they are just far too stuffy and analytical, that just sounds and feels unnatural to me. My written style is more expressive and that and I want to portray that more within these short reviews. It’s not that I think this is how it should be done, I have always been more interested in the experience people tell when giving an impression and that’s what I tend to do too.

The Project Zomboid one was probably close to this, and probably one of my most watched because of that but then for the Armello one it was way too stiff.

I think I am still a little bit nervous about this whole talking so much stuff, especially since I know they quality of the mic isn’t the best, or good. It seems, like most things this whole youtube content creation business is a lot harder than it looks.

Anyway, I think I’ll keep at it. It portrays the message of certain things a lot easier than written and having gameplay is always good. The problem is I’m still not sure what type of content I even want to create just yet.

Thoughts appreciated

Also, just wondering what people you watch on youtube as well and why?

7 thoughts on “The Mood for Youtube

  1. I wouldn’t mind shorter, more focused pieces. Like a five minute review, for example. I think you could work in more of your fun personality with a little less need for detail.

  2. I don’t watch youtube “reviews” as such. I watch Total Biscuit sometimes, and I like how it’s more of a stream-style feel. The only other youtubes I’ve watched are a couple of brits playing through Little Inferno, and Nika Harper (from Geek & Sundry) doing playthroughs of a couple of games. But they aren’t reviews, so not much help here….

    All I can suggest is to kind of narrate a playthrough of a game, then listen to it and figure out what info you missed and what you really were excited to talk about. Then do another playthrough with your new knowledge and ideas and see if it comes out more naturally and has the feel you want it to.

    • yeh that is a good idea, you would find things you’ve missed that way although I’m always worried with it going on too long. I tend to never watch long reviews all the way through on youtube.

  3. I like reviews of any length: shorter and focused is good for a quick summary/overview; longer and encompassing is good for seeing more actual gameplay.

    Your review of Project Zomboid factored into my purchase of it. 🙂

    For comparison, I also play boardgames and watch YouTube videos on those as well. Games can be pricey (granted, one purchased they are very replayable and it is also a social thing) and nobody wants to repeatedly buy games that are duds. So on the short/focused side I watch Starlit Citadel reviews, and for long/encompassing I watch Rahdo Runs Through and How It’s Played.

    Some of those Rahdo ones are 45 mins long so maybe I’m unusual in that I’m willing to watch a long video about a game I am interested in buying. If I can’t sit through the review then I probably don’t want to spend $40+ on the game that is being reviewed. 😉

Comments are closed.