A Self Hosted Solution

So Yep, after all this time I’ve decided to go the self – Hosted route. Setting it up doesn’t seem that hard, just incredibly time consuming. I’m probably going the blue host route so if anyone has a referral code I can use to get some contributions feel free to put it below.

I’ve been reading up a bit on css formatting of late too, and have become adept at reading and mostly understanding that inspect element stuff browsers have so setting it up, and with a little personalisation will take a bit but should be achievable.

Along this line I’m just wondering what you all think about blog layouts. What it a good style to have. what works for you and what do you look for in the style of a blog? what makes it easier to read for you? Rss will always be fully open, but the rest is up for debate.

The main thing I’m Thinking about now is just what to call the blog. Do i go for Healingthemasses.net, htmgaming like the youtube or some kind of other name. Really wondering about that as it’s a name I would want to keep from then on and kind of want to get it right.

So Suggestions for a name below would be appreciated.

11 thoughts on “A Self Hosted Solution

  1. I like healingthemasses.net, too. One thing I really love about blogs is the blogroll so I can explore other topics, authors and contributors. Please keep it 🙂

    • awesome…. and yeh, one of the reasons i want to selof host as well is to get that rolling blogroll. I have so many i read but putting them in this one would take forever

  2. Probably won’t surprise you to hear that when it comes to appearances I like a clear, plain look that replicates the feel of a magazine page. Blogs that use lots of layers and overlays and windows a) play very, very badly with NoScript and b) are confusing even when they work. The current layout you use manages to give the impression of having layers, which makes it visually richer than a flat page, but doesn’t see to have the “moving parts” that make some other sites hard to read.

    As for the name, it’s a strong and memorable one and you’ve built name recognition so definitely stick with it. Good luck on the transition!

    • ty.. there is a little bit of css behind the scenes to make it like this and yeh, i like that clean page style look as well

      althoguh sometimes when i’m in a hurry for certain sites i prefer to skim titles and extracts, that’s what i was thinking but yhe… for blogs i usually read everything anyway. I guess i would go that way with multiple posts a day but probably not needed for me

  3. And please do not forget to keep the RSS flux ! It would be a disaster (for me at least 😉 ) to lose it !

    One improvment could be to use a good SFW optional display, where nothing can lead to suggest you are actually reading a Game Blog and not a very technical stuff about your job 😉

    • you used a lot of terms there and WHOOSH..no idea haha nd a quick google doesn’t really explain either.

      I know the problem but would you mind elaborating on the solution?

Comments are closed.